top of page

Why, Hello!


With great surprise, 3 years have passed since I started - and abruptly stopped - this blog. The vision for knitting humanity together remains real. Life, however, had some other ideas, and thus... the ability to execute on this inspiration fell by the wayside.

So I am broadening the view and the blog. Life. It is a Teacher. And I am constantly learning, a Student. So what have these lessons been?

In a nutshell, the best laid plans can and do get modified. People and things ebb and flow. We can have a vision, and we can keep it front and center, but sometimes attention gets called to other things. It’s what we decide is important that drives it. Now, none of that is profound. I’m sure you’ve had those realizations, too. For me, it’s been health and family. Sometimes events outpaced the vision, and sometimes it’s been the other way around. The Vision (capital V) can obscure what is ours to do in the immediate.

So I turned my attention back to that which is right in front of me, and kept the Vision stoked in the background.

One of those visions is a viable, thriving of caring community doing good works. How that will manifest, though? I think - at the risk of sounding too woo woo - it must evolve organically from Spirit, from God - Inspiration - and a community inspiration at that. Who is the community? You, if you choose to reach out. If you do, let’s see what comes of a possible brainstorming collaboration. Maybe it’s long-term, maybe a quick one off. If I try to control the outcome.., well, insanity can ensue.

So over the course of the last 3 years I have had a couple of injuries to hands and shoulder. Arthritis - specifically thumb - has developed, and hand strength has gone down significantly. Physical therapy kind of helps, but it’s surgery time. I have at least two surgeries in my future, both for the hands, and not sure what will transpire with the shoulder. Knitting has been very difficult, with some days better than others - although those are few and far between.

Additionally, elderly parent care is here. I have been doing a lot - with great joy - for my dad who is now 95. DH and I sold and moved to be closer. I cook a lot these days. Knitting humanity together includes feeding humanity, too! Love is generated and communicated in a variety of ways. Nourishing and nurturing via food is a nice way to go, and can give my hands different challenges that help with movement, strength and pain. Learning how to manage health conditions via food has also been inspiring me. I am learning how to help manage 3 or 4 different health conditions (not all mine) - anti-inflammatory (arthritis and pain, plus anti-inflammatory benefits pretty much everyone in general), blood pressure, kidney stuff, no gluten, soy, nightshades or lectins. It’s kind of like chemistry. Challenges my brain and helps me express my love. I am definitely a Student.

So this meandering blogpost is just that - a meandering recap of what I’m doing and where I’m at. More as I decide to write.


Karla's Helpful Hints for learning to knit

#1 

The internet is your friend - YouTube has a wealth of information, and some excellent instruction. 

 

#2

Some favorite websites are Craftsy, Ravelry and Interweavestore - creating an account is free, and there is also a ton of free content, plus some excellent classes.

 

#3

Another fave website for learning, found via YouTube is verypink.com. Staci Perry is a stellar instructor; she teaches knitting, and crochet for knitters.

 

#4

While I specifically knit, any craft is welcome! 

 

#5

Did you know that crafting is akin to meditation? And very good for your brain.

bottom of page