top of page

"...Ask what makes you come alive and do that. Because what the world needs is people who have


"Don't worry about what the world needs. Ask what makes you come alive and do that. Because what the world needs is people who have come alive."

-Howard Thurman

There are 4 or 5 things that are in the category of what makes me come alive. Frambly (Family & Friends), and the category spiritual practice, which for me includes music, yoga, knitting, doing good.

When I started knitting again 2+ years ago, my goal was simple - learn how to knit socks. I loved the self-striping yarn, all the various sock patterns, and was inspired. I find it somewhat hilarious that I have yethttp://seattle.gov to knit a sock!

I knit plenty of other things. I'm able to create gifts that have love knit into every stitch. Family and friends, and for the last many months, charity knitting for the Heart Association's Little Hats Big Hearts, Treehouse For Kids, and Knitted Knockers.

I'd like to add other populations to the mix - refugees, for example. That was the initial driver for this idea of a non-profit. The 25000 Tuques movement in Canada really speaks to my heart. While it turns out that the Seattle area specifically won't have a lot of Syrian refugees until 2017 (source: City of Seattle Office of Immigrant And Refugee Affairs), there are other refugees, and they need love, warmth, and a home.

Seattle is just one location. This can be a broader effort.

Thoughts?

Wix doesn't provide the ability to comment on blog posts (I didn't realize that when I started this), so please weigh in on Facebook. Those who have subscribed so far are all on FB, so comment on my page; I can tag others so they're in on the disucssion. And I'll also get my act together and finalize the FB page &/or group specific to Knitting Humanity Together, and then we'll have a place for everyone. It will also keep my page personal, which is a good thing. :)

Thank you for reading. I look forward to hearing from you! Until next time...

Peace be with you.


Karla's Helpful Hints for learning to knit

#1 

The internet is your friend - YouTube has a wealth of information, and some excellent instruction. 

 

#2

Some favorite websites are Craftsy, Ravelry and Interweavestore - creating an account is free, and there is also a ton of free content, plus some excellent classes.

 

#3

Another fave website for learning, found via YouTube is verypink.com. Staci Perry is a stellar instructor; she teaches knitting, and crochet for knitters.

 

#4

While I specifically knit, any craft is welcome! 

 

#5

Did you know that crafting is akin to meditation? And very good for your brain.

bottom of page